Chemotherapy is primary to therapeutic, prophylactic and diagnostic services, which are primary to hydration, and infusions are primary to pushes, which are primary to injections. Only one initial code is reportable per encounter. There is no chemotherapy concurrent code, but 96368 is still reportable alongside chemo at a maximum of one unit.
Most teams treat this as a hierarchy question, and the hierarchy is the easy half. In our claim audit the second concurrently infused drug never reached the claim at all on 23% of multi-drug infusion encounters, which is a handoff failure between the nursing record and the coder rather than a coding one. We think the fix belongs in the infusion record rather than in the code book: a start and a stop time per drug per line, or the encounter can only ever be billed as one initial service.
Methodology:Luxen figures on this page come from three datasets: the Luxen claim audit of 61,400 claims audited between January 2025 and June 2026, of which 8,400 are infusion and oncology claims; Luxen billing reviews covering 410 practice billing reviews over the same period; and Luxen client data across 38 client practices from January 2024 to June 2026. Coding rules are taken from the CMS National Correct Coding Initiative Policy Manual for 2026, Chapter 11, sections B.2, B.3, B.6 and N.6, from CMS Article A53778, from Noridian and First Coast guidance, from Highmark Reimbursement Policy RP-072 and from the Johns Hopkins Medicine OUT001 guideline. CPT descriptors and the drug administration hierarchy originate in the licensed AMA CPT Professional Edition and appear here as paraphrases corroborated across two or more independent policy documents. The 240 encounter worked example uses a modelled practice profile, and its volume, concurrent rate and allowed amount are assumptions rather than measured rates. No Medicare national payment amounts appear on this page, because dollar figures depend on locality, setting and the annual conversion factor; use the CMS Physician Fee Schedule Look-Up Tool.
Two drugs, one chair, one hour. The nurse hangs the chemotherapy and runs an antiemetic into the same line at the same time. What reaches the claim is usually a single line, and the hierarchy gets blamed for it. The hierarchy is not the problem.
The hierarchy runs on two axes at once, and both apply before an initial code is chosen. Noridian states the first: the initial code should be selected using a hierarchy whereby chemotherapy services are primary to therapeutic, prophylactic, and diagnostic services, which are primary to hydration services. And the second: infusions are primary to pushes, which are primary to injections.
So chemotherapy beats therapeutic, which beats hydration, and within that an infusion beats a push, which beats an injection. A chemotherapy IV push therefore outranks a therapeutic infusion: the category axis settles first and the route axis breaks ties inside it.
One consequence is widely missed. The hierarchy supersedes the parenthetical instructions printed under the add-on codes. Johns Hopkins and the Journal of AHIMA both say so, and Noridian gives the worked case: 96374, a therapeutic IV push, cannot be billed with 96360, hydration, because both are initial codes and only one initial code survives. Where a parenthetical and the hierarchy disagree, the hierarchy wins.
Three code families, three ranks. Hydration is 96360 and 96361. Therapeutic, prophylactic and diagnostic services run 96365 to 96379. Chemotherapy and other highly complex drug or biologic agents run 96401 to 96549. That last phrase is NCCI wording, and it is why belimumab for lupus and eculizumab for transplant rejection carry chemotherapy administration codes even though nobody in the room has cancer.
One rule the cheat sheets leave off: the hierarchy does not apply to subcutaneous and intramuscular injections, which are coded on their own terms. Keeping the family boundaries current against the live code set is ordinary coding work done before the claim goes out, not a quarterly clean-up.
The chemotherapy infusion is the initial service, because chemotherapy sits at the top of the category axis. The non-chemotherapy drug running alongside it is reported with 96368, the concurrent infusion add-on. That answer is better than most of the ranking pages suggest, and it comes straight from CMS.
NCCI Chapter 11, section N.6, says it directly: a concurrent intravenous infusion of an antiemetic or other non-chemotherapeutic drug with intravenous infusion of chemotherapeutic agents may be reported separately as CPT code 96368. The same sentence appears in the 2019 manual, in the 2026 Medicare manual and in the 2026 Medicaid manual, word for word.
So the claim carries 96413 for the chemotherapy infusion, 96415 for each additional hour the clock supports, and 96368 once for the concurrent antiemetic. Not two initial codes, and not a chemotherapy concurrent code, because none exists.
The ceiling sits in the same section: 96368 may be reported with a maximum of one unit of service per patient encounter regardless of the number of concurrently infused drugs. Three drugs running alongside the chemotherapy is still one unit. And the add-on is not time based. Noridian is explicit that it is reported once per encounter whether the concurrent drug ran for twenty minutes or two hours.
No, and the absence causes most of the confusion. Johns Hopkins states it in seven words: no concurrent code exists for chemotherapy or hydration. Highmark says the same. Read quickly, that becomes a prohibition on any concurrent code on a chemotherapy claim, which is wrong and expensive.
Hold the two statements side by side. There is no concurrent code inside the chemotherapy family, so two chemotherapy drugs running at the same time generate no concurrent line at all. And 96368, which lives in the therapeutic family, is reportable alongside a chemotherapy initial code when the concurrent drug is not chemotherapy. Both are true at once, and no page in the current results says both.
Two chemotherapeutic agents infusing simultaneously produce one initial code and nothing for the second drug. There is no code to report it. 96417 is the sequential chemotherapy add-on, for a new chemotherapeutic substance infused after the initial one through the same access, and a sequential infusion needs more than fifteen minutes of its own. Simultaneous is not sequential, so 96417 does not rescue the case.
If the protocol allows the second agent to follow rather than run alongside, that sequencing decision carries a reimbursement difference, and the pharmacy and nursing lead are better off knowing it before the order set is built. The same thinking applies to how the drug is acquired, which we cover in buy and bill margin on biologics.
Six steps. The first two decide the encounter.
Hydration is the step-five casualty people argue about. NCCI is explicit twice over: hydration concurrent with other drug administration services is not separately reportable, and hydration concurrent with chemotherapy is not separately reportable. Fluid run purely to keep an access device patent is neither diagnostic nor therapeutic and is not reported.
Documented lines per encounter run 1, 0.9, 0.6 and 0.4 across the initial infusion, the additional hour, the sequential drug and the concurrent drug. Submitted lines run 1, 0.7, 0.4 and 0.1. The loss widens further down the claim, which is the opposite of a hierarchy problem.
Put a volume behind it. Take a three-chair community oncology practice running 240 infusion encounters a month, where 38% of encounters carry a drug running concurrently with the chemotherapy. That is 91 encounters a month that should carry a 96368 line. If 96368 reaches the claim on about 1 in 10 of the 240 encounters, 24 do and 67 do not. Across a year that is 804 missing lines. At a locality allowed amount of $26 for 96368, it is $20,904 a year on care that was delivered, documented and staffed. Run your own allowed amount and concurrent rate against those, because both move by locality and by protocol.
Neither, and this is the most commonly repeated error on the topic. It comes from fusing two different thresholds into one rule.
Four numbers decide the code. An infusion of fifteen minutes or less is reported as a push rather than an infusion. Sixteen minutes is the floor for an infusion, initial or sequential. Hydration needs thirty-one minutes before it can be reported at all. And the first additional hour is reached at ninety-one minutes, because Noridian sets the rule as an infusion interval greater than thirty minutes beyond the one-hour increment.
The sixteen-minute figure is the infusion floor. It is not the additional-hour threshold. An infusion that runs seventy-five minutes carries the initial code and nothing else, because seventy-five is only fifteen minutes past the hour. The same infusion at ninety-two minutes carries the additional hour as well. Pages that tell you ninety minutes triggers the add-on reach the right answer through the wrong rule, and the rule is what you need when the clock reads one hour twenty-nine.
Two documentation consequences follow. A missing stop time means only a push can be billed, whatever actually ran, and we find no stop time on 14% of infusion encounters reviewed. Time spent managing an infusion reaction is excluded from the duration, which moves a claim down a tier when the nurse charts the whole chair time as one block. Both are record problems a billing team working inside your existing system can catch before the claim goes out.
Only on a documented exception. NCCI Chapter 11, section B.2, sets the default: for a patient encounter, only one initial service code may be reported unless it is medically reasonable and necessary that the drug or substance administrations occur at separate intravenous access sites.
Where two sites genuinely are required, NCCI says to use the procedure-to-procedure associated modifiers. Every MAC that names one names modifier 59, and Noridian is specific that it goes on the second initial code. Modifier XS, the separate-structure member of the X subset, is the more precise choice, but no MAC guidance names it here, so a claim built on XS appeals into a payer that was only ever told to look for 59.
The double-lumen case catches people. NCCI section B.3: if both lumina of a double lumen catheter are used for infusions of different substances or drugs, only one initial infusion CPT code may be reported. Two lumens are one access. Two drugs through two lumens at the same time is a concurrent infusion rather than two initial services, which puts the case back under 96368.
A genuinely separate encounter on the same date is the other exception, and that is a scheduling fact rather than a coding one. Either way the appeal stands on the record showing why two sites were necessary, not on the modifier. Our guide to denial reasons and how to appeal them covers the wider mechanics.
Most of them are not denied. They are underbilled, and an underbilled claim produces no denial at all.
Across the concurrent infusion failures we see, the second drug never being coded accounts for 31%, the wrong initial code for 24%, a missing stop time for 18%, 96368 billed more than once on one encounter for 15%, and hydration billed alongside chemotherapy for 12%. Only two of those five ever reach a remittance as a denial.
Work the queue in order. Confirm the second drug ran concurrently rather than sequentially, because a sequential drug billed as concurrent is a correction rather than an appeal. Confirm 96368 appears once. Confirm the initial code was chosen by the hierarchy on a facility claim and by the primary reason for the encounter on a professional one. Then appeal.
Across our book, coding and modifier errors caused 21% of denials, and appeals filed by Luxen were overturned 68% of the time. The quieter number is that 19% of denied claims were never reworked or appealed at all, which is part of why the top three denial reasons accounted for 58% of denied dollars in the average practice. A concentration like that is a queue, which is what working denials as a standing batch is for. The front-end half, confirming the authorization is live before the chair is booked, belongs in eligibility and prior authorization.
Keep it in house when one named person owns the infusion code set, reads the NCCI chapter each January and reconciles the nursing record against the claim weekly. The rules are stable rather than hard: the CY2026 Medicare Physician Fee Schedule final rule changes nothing in the drug administration codes, and the NCCI language on the one-initial rule and on 96368 is unchanged from 2019 through 2026. That is a role, not a department.
Move it outside when nobody does that job. Fully loaded in-house billing cost 7.9% of collections for practices under $2M, across 96 practices that shared payroll data, against an outsourced range of 3% to 6% of collections. Across our client practices, first-pass denial rate fell from 14.2% to 6.1% within 90 days of onboarding and median days in AR dropped from 54 to 33 within 120 days. The questions that separate vendors are on our medical billing companies page. Either way, start by pulling 90 days of infusion encounters and counting how many carried two drugs and how many produced two lines. A billing review runs that against your own records.
Want to know how this applies to your practice? We will review your AR and denials, free, in 30 minutes.
Book the reviewThis is the fork that changes the answer, and almost no page on the subject puts it in one place. In a hospital outpatient department the hierarchy picks the initial code. In a physician office it does not.
| Question | Hospital outpatient | Physician office |
|---|---|---|
| Who picks the initial code | The hierarchy | The primary reason for the encounter |
| Does the order of administration matter | No, the hierarchy decides | No, the reason for the visit decides |
| Chemo plus a concurrent antiemetic | Chemo initial, 96368 once | Chemo initial where chemo is the reason, 96368 once |
| Hydration as the initial service | Only where nothing outranks it | Only where hydration is the reason for the visit |
| Repeat IV push of the same drug | 96376, facility only, more than 30 minutes apart | Not reportable |
| Who reports 96360 to 96425 | The facility | The physician, outside the facility setting |
| What the physician bills in the facility | An E/M, with modifier 25 where separately identifiable | Not applicable |
| Second initial code on one date | Separate IV sites, modifier 59 on the second | Separate IV sites, modifier 59 on the second |
| Where the rule comes from | CPT hierarchy and NCCI Chapter 11 B.2 | CPT guidance on the primary reason for the encounter |
The line to hold on to: in the office you are asking what the patient came for, and in the hospital what outranks what. The same four drugs can produce a different initial code.
This is the home case, and the exposure runs one way. Nobody is audited for failing to bill a concurrent line, so the loss never surfaces on a denial report. An oncology practice should be able to say, monthly, how many infusion encounters carried a drug running alongside the chemotherapy and how many produced a 96368 line. The drug side leaks in parallel: JW or JZ drug waste modifiers were missing on 11% of single-dose vial claims in our claim audit. The wider picture is on our oncology billing page.
Non-oncology infusion centers hit this hardest because the drug families mix in one chair. An iron infusion, a monoclonal antibody and a premedication can run in one afternoon, and only one of them is chemotherapy for coding purposes. Build the family assignment into the drug master rather than leaving it to the coder. Our infusion billing page covers the rest of the chair-to-claim path.
Hematology sits on both sides of the line at once. One patient can receive a chemotherapeutic agent, a therapeutic infusion and hydration in a single visit, which makes the hierarchy decision live rather than theoretical. Hydration is the usual error: it runs alongside almost everything and is almost never separately reportable, since NCCI excludes it concurrent with other drug administration and with chemotherapy in the same section. Code the fluids out first and the rest of the claim gets simpler.
Both specialties infuse biologics that carry chemotherapy administration codes with no oncology diagnosis anywhere on the claim, which produces medical necessity reviews on cases that are coded correctly. What settles those reviews is the drug name and the administration record, not the diagnosis. Authorization is the companion risk: a lapsed biologic re-authorization is the commonest reason a correctly coded infusion claim still does not pay.
The facility and professional claims have to agree, and the hierarchy governs only one of them. A facility reporting 96413 with 96368 while the physician reports an E/M is correct rather than contradictory, since codes 96360 to 96425 are not intended to be reported by the physician in the facility setting. Reconcile both against one administration record before either goes out, which is what an oncology revenue cycle review is for.
No. NCCI states that 96368 may be reported with a maximum of one unit of service per patient encounter regardless of the number of concurrently infused drugs. Three drugs running alongside the chemotherapy is still one unit. The code is also not time based, so a concurrent drug that ran for two hours and one that ran for twenty minutes produce the same single line.
One infusion. Multiple drugs added to a single bag of fluids is one infusion, not a concurrent infusion, and it carries one administration code. Concurrent means two separate substances running into the same access at the same time, from separate containers. Mixing the two definitions is a common way practices end up billing 96368 on encounters that never qualified for it.
No. NCCI says hydration concurrent with chemotherapy is not separately reportable, and says separately that hydration concurrent with other drug administration services is not separately reportable either. Fluid run purely to keep an access device patent is neither diagnostic nor therapeutic and is not reported at all. Hydration earns its own line only where it is the service and nothing outranks it.
No. NCCI Chapter 11 section B.3 states that where both lumina of a double lumen catheter are used for infusions of different substances or drugs, only one initial infusion code may be reported. Two lumens are one access. If the two drugs ran at the same time through the two lumens, that is a concurrent infusion, so the second one is reported with 96368 rather than as a second initial service.
No. The drug administration hierarchy governs infusions, pushes and injections given through vascular access. Johns Hopkins states that it does not apply to subcutaneous and intramuscular injections, which are coded on their own terms. That is why 96372 for a therapeutic injection and 96401 for a non-hormonal chemotherapy injection sit outside the ranking exercise entirely.
A push, and nothing more. Highmark states it plainly: where a stop time is not documented, only an IV push can be billed. That holds even where the infusion clearly ran for an hour, because the record cannot support the time. The fix is in the nursing template rather than the claim, and it is worth auditing before any appeal, because an appeal on an undocumented infusion will fail.
A free 30 minute review of your AR ageing and denial reasons. We tell you what is recoverable and what it would take. No deck, no commitment, no fee.
Book a free billing review