Home/Research/Is balloon sinuplasty covered, and what documentation do payers require?
ENT coverage rules

Is balloon sinuplasty covered, and what documentation do payers require?

Short answer

Usually, yes. Cigna, Aetna and UnitedHealthcare cover balloon sinus dilation for chronic or recurrent sinusitis when the record shows qualifying symptoms, a failed medication trial of at least 8 weeks under Cigna’s policy, and CT disease in each sinus treated. Medicare has no national or local coverage policy, so the medical record decides payment.

Key takeaways
  • Cigna, Aetna and UnitedHealthcare all cover balloon sinus dilation for chronic or recurrent sinusitis when written criteria are met, and none covers it on the surgeon’s judgment alone.
  • Cigna requires at least eight weeks of failed medical therapy, and UnitedHealthcare requires the CT to be taken after that therapy and within 12 months of the procedure.
  • Coverage is decided sinus by sinus, so the CT findings, symptoms and authorization have to match each sinus and side billed.
  • Medicare has no National or Local Coverage Determination for balloon dilation, so the medical record carries the claim on review.
  • 31295 to 31298 cannot be billed with resection of the same sinus, and the 2026 office rate for 31298 is $2,968 against $216 in a facility.
Luxen's take

Payers have mostly stopped arguing that balloon dilation does not work, and practices that still appeal on clinical evidence are fighting the wrong battle. The denials we see are about sequence and scope: in our audit the CT scan predated the completed medication trial on 22% of denied balloon dilation claims. A scan taken before the trial ends cannot show that the trial failed, and no appeal letter fixes a timeline.

Shivam Pujara,Founder, Luxen Talent

What our billing data shows

22%
The CT scan predated the completed medication trial on 22% of denied balloon dilation claims in the Luxen claim audit of 61,400 claims.
13%
13% of balloon dilation claims billed a sinus that was not on the authorization, in the Luxen claim audit of 61,400 claims.
68%
Appeals filed by Luxen were overturned 68% of the time across 38 client practices, with a median 34 days from filing to payer decision.

Methodology:Figures come from the Luxen claim audit, 61,400 claims audited, Jan 2025 to Jun 2026, including 5,200 ENT claims; Luxen billing reviews, 410 practice billing reviews, Jan 2025 to Jun 2026; and Luxen client data, 38 client practices, Jan 2024 to Jun 2026. Payment amounts are 2026 Medicare national rates from the CMS final rule addenda.

Cite thisLuxen,Is balloon sinuplasty covered, and what documentation do payers require?(luxentalent.com)

Balloon sinuplasty is covered by most commercial plans and by Medicare when the record proves three things in order: qualifying symptoms, a failed medication trial, and CT evidence of disease in each sinus treated. Payers rarely argue anymore about whether the procedure works. They argue about whether this chart, for this sinus, meets the written criteria. This page sets out those criteria payer by payer, the codes and 2026 rates, and the documentation gaps behind most denials.

Is balloon sinuplasty covered by insurance?

Yes, for chronic rhinosinusitis and recurrent acute rhinosinusitis that meet a payer’s criteria, and not for most other indications. Cigna, Aetna and UnitedHealthcare all publish medical necessity criteria for balloon sinus ostial dilation, and all three treat it as a covered option when those criteria are met. None of them covers it on the surgeon’s judgment alone.

The criteria are not identical. Cigna’s policy 0480 requires at least two qualifying symptoms lasting more than three consecutive months, CT evidence of disease in each sinus being treated, and failure of at least eight weeks of medical therapy covering antibiotics, a steroid spray, an antihistamine spray or decongestant, and saline irrigation. UnitedHealthcare’s Sinus Surgeries and Interventions policy sets the symptom threshold at longer than 12 weeks and adds a timing rule: the CT has to be taken after medical therapy is complete. Aetna’s CPB 0937 covers dilation for uncomplicated sinusitis without nasal polyposis and lists more than a dozen indications it considers experimental.

Does Medicare cover balloon sinuplasty?

Medicare covers it, but without a written policy to point to. There is no National Coverage Determination for balloon sinus ostial dilation, and no Local Coverage Determination or billing article either, which UnitedHealthcare states plainly in its Medicare Advantage policy. Traditional Medicare contractors therefore judge each claim on whether the service was reasonable and necessary, and the medical record carries the whole argument if the claim is reviewed.

Medicare Advantage plans fill the gap themselves. Federal rules let an MA plan apply internal coverage criteria when Medicare’s own criteria are not fully established, provided the plan publishes the criteria and the evidence behind them. UnitedHealthcare’s Medicare Advantage policy simply points to its commercial criteria. In practice, an MA patient is held to roughly the same checklist as a commercial patient, often with prior authorization attached.

Does insurance cover balloon sinuplasty when a plan calls it experimental?

Some plans still label stand-alone dilation experimental or investigational, and plans that cover the procedure overall label specific uses that way. Aetna considers a repeat balloon procedure in any sinus, isolated ethmoid disease, nasal polyposis of grade 2 or greater and unilateral pansinus opacification experimental. The American Academy of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery (AAO-HNS) published a statement in April 2021 opposing experimental labels on stand-alone dilation, which is useful in an appeal when a plan’s policy conflicts with its own published criteria or with current evidence.

What documentation do payers require for balloon sinuplasty insurance coverage?

Payers require proof of the diagnosis, proof that medication failed, and imaging that shows disease in the exact sinus being dilated, documented in that order. The list below is the set we check before a request goes out, built from Cigna 0480, Aetna CPB 0937 and UnitedHealthcare’s policy. Requests are prepared and tracked through our eligibility and prior authorization workflow.

  1. Diagnosis pathway. State whether the patient qualifies under chronic rhinosinusitis or recurrent acute rhinosinusitis. The two have different criteria, and a request that mixes them reads as neither.
  2. Symptoms with dates. For chronic disease, at least two of nasal obstruction, mucopurulent drainage, facial pain or pressure, and reduced sense of smell, with an onset date that shows more than 12 weeks.
  3. Medication trial with drugs, dates and durations. Name each agent, its start and stop dates, and the outcome. Cigna counts at least eight weeks across antibiotics, steroid spray, antihistamine spray or decongestant, and saline irrigation. A note that says failed maximal medical therapy meets none of these policies.
  4. CT after the trial. UnitedHealthcare requires the CT to follow completed medical management and treats a scan within 12 months of the procedure as recent. The radiology report should name each diseased sinus and the extent of disease, as percentage opacification or a modified Lund-Mackay score.
  5. Sinus-by-sinus match. Every sinus on the request needs its own CT finding, and UnitedHealthcare requires symptoms on the same side as the CT findings.
  6. Endoscopy where required. For recurrent acute disease, Cigna requires four or more episodes a year and nasal endoscopy findings of significant disease. UnitedHealthcare requires symptom-free intervals between episodes.
  7. Exclusions ruled out. Record the absence of polyps, tumor and prior balloon dilation of the same sinus.
  8. Authorization by sinus and side. The approval should list every code and side you plan to bill. Dilating a sinus the approval does not name turns a covered case into a denied line.

The sequence matters as much as the content. In the ENT claims we audit, the CT scan predated the completed medication trial on 22% of denied balloon dilation claims, and the medication trial was documented without dates or durations on 34% of balloon dilation claims we audited. Both are fixable before the request is sent, and neither is fixable after.

What is the balloon sinuplasty CPT code, and can it be billed with sinus surgery?

Balloon dilation is reported with four codes, and none of them can be billed with surgery on the same sinus. 31295 covers the maxillary ostium, 31296 the frontal, 31297 the sphenoid, and 31298 the frontal and sphenoid ostia together. The codes are unilateral, fluoroscopy is included when used, and the diagnostic nasal endoscopy code 31231 is bundled into any surgical endoscopy at the same encounter.

When to use the 31295 CPT code and the rest of the family

AAO-HNS coding guidance sets the same-sinus pairs. 31295 is not reported with 31233, 31256 or 31267 on the same sinus, 31296 is not reported with 31276, and 31297 is not reported with 31235, 31287 or 31288. Ethmoidectomy works differently: 31254 or 31255 is reported in addition to the dilation code. If tissue is removed after dilation, report the resection code and drop the balloon. Cigna and Aetna apply the same logic to payment, treating dilation used during FESS in the same sinus as part of the primary procedure.

A balloon dilation code was paired with a resection code on the same sinus on 7% of claims combining the two in our audit, inside a wider pattern where coding and modifier errors caused 21% of denials. Our medical coding review checks the sinus and side on every line before the claim goes out.

What the codes pay by setting

The 2026 Medicare national rates show why office dilation is a different business from facility dilation. In the office, the surgeon is paid $1,579 for 31295, $1,604 for 31296, $1,566 for 31297 and $2,968 for 31298. In a facility the same codes pay the surgeon $135, $152, $124 and $216.

2026 Medicare surgeon payment by setting 2026 Medicare surgeon payment by setting. Physician office: 31295 Maxillary $1,579, 31296 Frontal $1,604, 31297 Sphenoid $1,566, 31298 Front + sphen $2,968; Facility: 31295 Maxillary $135, 31296 Frontal $152, 31297 Sphenoid $124, 31298 Front + sphen $216. Source: CMS CY2026 PFS final rule addenda, via Medtronic ENT coding guide. 2026 Medicare surgeon payment by setting Physician office Facility $0 $750 $1,500 $2,250 $3,000 $1,579 $135 31295 Maxillary $1,604 $152 31296 Frontal $1,566 $124 31297 Sphenoid $2,968 $216 31298 Front +sphen Source: CMS CY2026 PFS final rule addenda, via Medtronic ENT coding guide
Source: CMS CY2026 PFS final rule addenda, via Medtronic ENT coding guide

The gap is the device. The office rate carries the balloon system in its practice expense, so an office claim denied in full loses the cost of the device as well as the professional fee. Our otolaryngology billing page covers the wider ENT code set, including nasal endoscopy and modifier 25 on scope days.

How does the site of service change what payers pay and what patients owe?

The site of service changes the total cost of the same case by more than double. For one 31298 case at 2026 Medicare national rates, the hospital outpatient department is paid $7,210 and the surgeon $216, a total of $7,426. An ambulatory surgery center is paid $2,451 plus the same $216, a total of $2,667. In the physician office the total is the surgeon’s $2,968.

Medicare spend on one 31298 case, by site Medicare spend on one 31298 case, by site. Hospital outpatient: $7,426; Ambulatory surgery center: $2,667; Physician office: $2,968. Source: CMS CY2026 PFS and OPPS/ASC final rules, via Medtronic ENT coding guide. Medicare spend on one 31298 case, by site Facility payment plus surgeon payment, 2026 national rates Hospital outpatient $7,426 Ambulatory surgerycenter $2,667 Physician office $2,968 Source: CMS CY2026 PFS and OPPS/ASC final rules, via Medtronic ENT coding guide
Source: CMS CY2026 PFS and OPPS/ASC final rules, via Medtronic ENT coding guide

All four dilation codes map to the same hospital outpatient payment group, APC 5155, so a single-sinus maxillary case costs the hospital outpatient benefit as much as a frontal and sphenoid case. When a case is booked in a hospital outpatient department, the record should say why the office or an ASC was not suitable, because the payer can see the same arithmetic.

What balloon sinuplasty cost with insurance looks like for the patient

For a Medicare patient treated in the office for 31298, the 20% coinsurance on $2,968 is $593.60, plus any unmet Part B deductible. Commercial patients pay according to their deductible and coinsurance, which is why the same procedure can cost one patient a few hundred dollars and another several thousand. Quote the patient from the allowed amount on their plan, not from a price range on a marketing page.

Why do balloon sinuplasty claims get denied?

Most balloon dilation denials trace to the medical record rather than the code. Across the denied balloon dilation claims in our audit, medical necessity records caused 38% of denials, authorization gaps 29%, same-sinus coding conflicts 17%, and eligibility and other causes 16%.

Why balloon dilation claims are denied Why balloon dilation claims are denied. Medical necessity records: 38%; Authorization gaps: 29%; Same-sinus coding conflict: 17%; Eligibility and other: 16%. Why balloon dilation claims are denied Share of denied balloon dilation claims by cause 38% 29% 17% 16% 100% Medical necessityrecords 38% (38%) Authorization gaps 29% (29%) Same-sinus codingconflict 17% (17%) Eligibility andother 16% (16%)

The authorization problem is specific to this procedure. Because coverage runs sinus by sinus, an approval can be valid and still not match the claim: 13% of balloon dilation claims billed a sinus that was not on the authorization. Across all specialties, missing or invalid prior authorization caused 17% of denials and eligibility and coverage errors caused 24%, so balloon dilation sits at the authorization-heavy end of the range.

What does a denial pattern cost an ENT practice?

Take a three-surgeon ENT group performing 10 office maxillary dilations (31295 at $1,579) and 6 office frontal and sphenoid dilations (31298 at $2,968) a month. That is $15,790 plus $17,808, or $33,598 a month in allowed charges at Medicare national rates, from dilation alone.

  • Office balloon dilation claims carried an 18% first-pass denial rate in our audit, so $6,047.64 a month is denied on first submission.
  • In the average practice we review, 19% of denied claims were never reworked or appealed. At that rate, $1,149.05 a month is abandoned outright.
  • The remaining $4,898.59 is appealed. Appeals filed by Luxen were overturned 68% of the time, which recovers $3,331.04 and leaves $1,567.55 unpaid.
  • The total loss is $2,716.60 a month, or $32,599.20 a year, from one procedure line.

Even the recovered money arrives late. Median appeal turnaround was 34 days from filing to payer decision, so a denied office case waits more than a month for cash the practice has already spent on a device. The cheaper fix sits upstream: a request that carries a dated medication history, a post-trial CT with sinus-by-sinus findings, and an approval that matches the claim line for line.

What are the most common balloon sinuplasty documentation mistakes?

  • Writing failed maximal medical therapy with no drug names, dates or durations.
  • Ordering the CT at the first visit, then dilating months later without a scan taken after the medication trial.
  • A radiology report that says chronic sinusitis without naming the sinus or the extent of disease.
  • Requesting approval for maxillary dilation and performing frontal or sphenoid dilation on the day, or treating the opposite side.
  • Billing 31296 and 31297 on the same side instead of 31298, which describes the combined frontal and sphenoid service.
  • Billing a balloon code on a sinus that also had tissue removed.
  • Using J32.2, chronic ethmoidal sinusitis, as the supporting diagnosis, which Aetna lists as not covered for balloon dilation.
  • Dilating a sinus that was dilated before, which Aetna considers experimental.

How do you appeal a balloon sinuplasty denial, and should the work stay in house?

Appeal on the payer’s own criteria, line by line. Quote the policy number and effective date, map each criterion to a dated page in the record, attach the CT report and the medication log, and request a peer-to-peer review when the denial says the record did not establish medical necessity. Where a plan calls stand-alone dilation experimental, attach the AAO-HNS reimbursement statement. The wider appeal process is covered in our guide to claim denial reasons and appeals.

Whether this work stays in house is a volume question. A practice doing a handful of dilations a year can run the checklist above by hand. A rhinology practice doing several a week needs someone who owns every authorization, matches it to the claim, and works each denial within days rather than months. Fully loaded in-house billing cost 7.9% of collections for practices under $2M, across 96 practices that shared payroll data, against 3% to 6% of collections for outsourced billing. Our denials and AR recovery team works this queue, and full-service medical billing covers the whole cycle inside your existing system. For a read on your own balloon claims, start with a free billing review.

Want to know how this applies to your practice? We will review your AR and denials, free, in 30 minutes.

Book the review

How do Cigna, Aetna, UnitedHealthcare and Medicare compare on balloon sinuplasty?

The plans agree on the shape of the requirement and differ on the details that decide a request. Read the current version before each request, because all three commercial policies carry 2026 effective or review dates.

RequirementCigna 0480Aetna CPB 0937UnitedHealthcareTraditional Medicare
Written policyYes, effective April 15, 2026Yes, reviewed April 10, 2026Sinus Surgeries and Interventions, 2026No NCD, LCD or billing article
Chronic symptoms2 or more, over 3 consecutive monthsUncomplicated sinusitis without polyps, criteria in policy appendixLonger than 12 weeksReasonable and necessary standard
Medical therapyAt least 8 weeks of antibiotics, steroid spray, antihistamine spray or decongestant, and salineSet in policy appendixFull courses of steroids, antibiotics if bacterial infection suspected, and irrigationMust be documented in the record
CTDisease in each sinus treatedSet in policy appendixAfter therapy, within 12 months, extent stated for each sinus, same side as symptomsSupports necessity on review
Recurrent acute disease4 or more episodes a year, endoscopy findings, CT ostial occlusionAcute maxillary, frontal and sphenoid codes covered when criteria met4 or more episodes a year with symptom-free intervals, CT findingsSame standard
Same sinus as FESSNot separately reimbursablePart of the primary procedureCPT and NCCI same-sinus rulesCPT and NCCI same-sinus rules
Key exclusionsAll other indicationsPolyps grade 2 or more, isolated ethmoid disease, repeat balloon, unilateral pansinus opacificationSinonasal polyps or tumorsNone published

Medicare Advantage plans may publish their own criteria under federal rules, and UnitedHealthcare’s Medicare Advantage policy applies its commercial criteria, so an MA request should be built to the commercial column for that plan.

How the answer changes by specialty

Balloon dilation is billed almost entirely by otolaryngology, but the evidence it depends on is often created by other specialties. Dental, physical therapy, behavioral health and ambulance practices do not bill these codes.

Otolaryngology and rhinology practices

The office suite is where the money and the risk sit together. 31298 pays $2,968 in the office against $216 in a facility, and a full denial on an office case loses the device cost along with the fee. Build the authorization request around the claim you intend to send: each sinus, each side, and 31298 rather than 31296 plus 31297 when the frontal and sphenoid ostia are dilated together. Keep the post-trial CT report and the dated medication log in one place in the chart, because every payer asks for both and every appeal needs them. When dilation and resection share a session, our breakdown of sinus surgery bundling and modifier 50 covers which lines can stand together.

Allergy and immunology

Much of the medication trial lives in allergy records: steroid sprays, antihistamine sprays, irrigation and immunotherapy. Cigna counts at least eight weeks across these agents, and a referral note that says the patient failed medical therapy will not satisfy it. Referral letters should list each agent with start and stop dates and the response. Allergy practices that also bill testing and immunotherapy will find the coding rules on our allergy and immunology billing page.

Primary care and internal medicine

Primary care usually prescribes the antibiotic courses and sees the acute episodes. For recurrent acute rhinosinusitis, Cigna and UnitedHealthcare require four or more episodes a year, and the dated visit notes from primary care are the only proof. Acute sinusitis visits coded with the specific sinus, such as J01.00 for acute maxillary sinusitis, make that record usable later. See primary care billing for visit coding.

Ambulatory surgery centers

ASC payment varies more by code than the physician rates do. In 2026 the national ASC rate is $3,105 for 31295, $1,496 for 31296, $3,113 for 31297 and $2,451 for 31298, so the combined frontal and sphenoid code pays the facility less than a single maxillary dilation. The facility claim and the surgeon claim must carry the same codes and sides, and the authorization should name the ASC as the site. See ambulatory surgery center billing.

Hospital outpatient departments

All four dilation codes map to APC 5155 with status indicator J1, paying $7,210 nationally in 2026 for any of the four codes. That price is why hospital cases draw scrutiny. Document why the case needed a hospital setting, such as anesthesia needs or comorbidities, and confirm the authorization covers the hospital site rather than the office. See hospital billing.

Frequently asked questions

Does Medicare require prior authorization for balloon sinuplasty?

Medicare Advantage plans often do, and they may apply their own published criteria because Medicare has no national or local coverage policy for balloon dilation. Traditional Medicare decides these claims on the reasonable and necessary standard, so the record carries the case if a claim is reviewed. Check the patient’s plan before scheduling, and document symptoms, the medication trial and CT findings either way.

Can balloon sinuplasty and FESS be billed on the same day?

Yes, on different sinuses. A balloon code cannot be billed with a resection code on the same sinus, and Cigna and Aetna treat dilation used during FESS in that sinus as part of the primary procedure. Ethmoidectomy codes 31254 and 31255 are reported in addition to a dilation code. If tissue is removed after dilation, report the resection code instead.

Is a repeat balloon sinuplasty covered?

Often not. Aetna considers a repeat balloon procedure in any sinus, or a history of failed balloon dilation in the sinus to be treated, experimental and investigational. Other plans may handle revision under their sinus surgery criteria instead. If a sinus needs more treatment after dilation, check whether the plan expects endoscopic sinus surgery rather than a second balloon, and request approval on that basis.

How recent does the CT scan need to be for balloon sinuplasty approval?

UnitedHealthcare treats a CT as recent when it is performed within 12 months of the planned procedure, and requires it to be taken after medical therapy is complete. The report should name each diseased sinus and state the extent of disease as percentage opacification or a modified Lund-Mackay score. Cigna requires CT evidence of disease in every sinus being treated.

Which diagnosis codes support balloon sinus dilation?

Aetna lists chronic maxillary, frontal and sphenoidal sinusitis, J32.0, J32.1 and J32.3, and the matching acute codes as covered when criteria are met. Chronic ethmoidal sinusitis, J32.2, is listed as not covered for balloon dilation, which matches the rule that isolated ethmoid disease does not qualify. Code the sinus actually dilated, and keep laterality consistent with the CT.

Is balloon sinuplasty covered for nasal polyps?

Usually not. Aetna considers dilation experimental for nasal polyposis of grade 2 or greater, and UnitedHealthcare lists sinonasal polyps as unproven and not medically necessary. Cigna’s criteria differ and accept polyposis among the CT findings for chronic disease. Patients with polyps are more often treated with endoscopic sinus surgery, so check the policy before requesting dilation.

Sources

Shivam Pujara
About the author
Shivam Pujara
Founder, Luxen Talent|Leads Luxen's billing and revenue cycle team

Shivam founded Luxen to run the revenue cycle for independent medical practices, from eligibility checks to zero balance, inside the systems they already use. He writes from what the team sees in client AR, denials and billing reviews every week.

LinkedIn profile

Get a straight answer for your practice

A free 30 minute review of your AR ageing and denial reasons. We tell you what is recoverable and what it would take. No deck, no commitment, no fee.

Book a free billing review