Home/Medical Billing/Wound Care
Written by  · Reviewed by  · Last updated September 10, 2026

Wound Care Billing Services

Billing and coding for physician-owned wound clinics, hospital-based wound centers, mobile wound care groups, and podiatry and vascular practices.

A skin substitute claim billed with the wrong units puts thousands of dollars at risk. Since January 1, 2026, Medicare pays most skin substitutes as supplies at about $127.28 per square centimeter, so a 20 sq cm application is $2,545.60 in product payment alone. Claims with JW or JZ now get rejected, and debridement still pays only when depth and area in the note match the code. Luxen codes and works every wound care claim inside your current system.

Book a Billing Review
BAA signed before accessCertified codersWorks inside your EHRMonth to month

What Are Wound Care Billing Services?

Wound care billing services code, submit and follow up claims for debridement, skin substitutes, compression, hyperbaric oxygen and wound visits, matching each claim to documented depth and square centimeters. In the Luxen claim audit, 13% of debridement claims billed deeper than documented, and Medicare now pays most skin substitutes at about $127.28 per square centimeter.

Wound Care Practices We Bill For

We bill for practices where wound care is the main service line, and for specialties that treat chronic wounds next to procedures, rounds and clinic visits.

Settings that need wound care medical billing services

  • Physician-owned wound clinics. Office claims for debridement, compression and skin substitute applications, where the practice buys the product and bills it as a supply.
  • Hospital-based wound centers. Professional claims for physicians and nurse practitioners, while the hospital bills the facility side, including G0277 for hyperbaric oxygen.
  • Mobile wound care groups. Part B visits in skilled nursing facilities, assisted living and homes, with NP-heavy rosters that need payer enrollment and credentialing before the first round.
  • Podiatry, vascular and general surgery practices. Diabetic foot ulcer and venous ulcer care billed next to procedures and global periods.

Other service lines we bill with wound care: hyperbaric oxygen professional services, negative pressure wound therapy, total contact casting and E/M visits.

Where Wound Care Billing Loses Money

Wound care money leaks where the claim and the note disagree on size, depth or product.

ScenarioCodesWhat goes wrong$ at stake per claimLuxen audit finding
Skin substitute units do not match the documented areaProduct HCPCS with 15271 to 15278 or G0681 to G0684Excess units are recouped; missing units are never paidAbout $127.28 per square centimeterBilled product units mismatched documented square centimeters on 9% of claims
Discard modifiers left on 2026 product claimsJW, JZSupplies do not take JW or JZ, so the claim is rejected$2,545.60 in product payment on a 20 sq cm applicationJW or JZ appeared on 14% of 2026 product claims
Depth billed deeper than the note supports11043 or 11044 billed, note supports 11042Downcoded or deniedA median $97 per debridement claim error13% of debridement claims billed deeper than documented
Same-depth wounds billed as separate units11042, 11045Same-depth areas must be summed firstA median $97 per debridement claim error6% of multi-wound claims billed same-depth wounds separately
E/M on a debridement day without a separate problem99212 to 99215 with modifier 25The decision to debride is paid inside the procedureA median $74 per denied E/M line12% of same-day E/M claims lacked a separate problem

Wound Care Billing and Coding for Debridement by Depth

Debridement is reported by the deepest tissue removed and by total surface area, not by the number of wounds. Wellpoint Federal's billing article gives the example of two foot ulcers debrided to subcutaneous tissue with a combined 6 sq cm, billed as 11042 with one unit. Our certified medical coders check depth and area against the note before submission.

Debridement codes by depth

Depth of tissue removedFirst 20 sq cm or lessEach additional 20 sq cmWho can bill
Selective (wound surface)9759797598Physicians, NPPs and therapists
Subcutaneous tissue1104211045Physicians and NPPs
Muscle or fascia1104311046Physicians and NPPs
Bone1104411047Physicians and NPPs

Rules that decide the units

  • Add together the surface area of wounds at the same depth, and never combine areas from different depths (WPS LCD L37228).
  • Do not report 97597 or 97598 with 11042 to 11047 for the same wound (2026 NCCI Policy Manual, Chapter XI).
  • Debridement before a graft or skin substitute is included in the application code and is not reported separately (NCCI Chapter III).
  • Therapists may bill 97597 and 97598 with a therapy modifier; only physicians and NPPs may bill the 11000 series (Noridian article A53296).
  • Under Noridian article A58565, when debridement and an Unna boot (29580) are done at the same visit, only the debridement is paid.

Documentation each debridement needs

WPS LCD L37228 asks for current wound volume (surface dimensions and depth), a description of the tissue removed, the method used, measurements in square centimeters, and progress notes every 10 days with size and depth. The LCD also states that wounds without measurable reduction in size at 2 to 4 weeks despite appropriate therapy are unlikely to heal, which is where reviewers start questioning repeat debridement. Wellpoint Federal adds that debriding a diabetic foot ulcer more often than once every 7 days for longer than 3 months may not be reasonable and necessary.

Wound Care Billing for Skin Substitutes Under 2026 Rules

CMS reports that Part B spending on skin substitutes rose from $252 million in 2019 to over $10 billion in 2024. The CY 2026 Physician Fee Schedule final rule changed how every product is paid.

What changed on January 1, 2026

  • Skin substitutes are paid as incident-to supplies when used in a covered application procedure, in the office (PFS) and hospital outpatient department (OPPS).
  • Products are grouped by FDA status: PMA, 510(k) and 361 HCT/P. For 2026 all three share one rate of about $127.28 per square centimeter, before geographic adjustment.
  • Non-BLA products are no longer paid as biologicals, and only the administered portion is payable (CMS JW/JZ FAQ).
  • JW and JZ do not apply to supplies; First Coast rejects skin substitute claims carrying them for dates of service from January 1, 2026.
  • Non-sheet products use application codes G0681 to G0684, billed on documented wound surface area.

Size bands on the application codes

Application codes split by total wound surface area. Wounds under 100 sq cm bill the first 25 sq cm plus each additional 25 sq cm; wounds of 100 sq cm or more bill the first 100 sq cm plus each additional 100 sq cm. For sheet grafts, 15271 to 15274 cover the trunk, arms and legs, and 15275 to 15278 cover the face, scalp, eyelids, mouth, neck, ears, orbits, genitalia, hands, feet and multiple digits.

Coverage and prior authorization in 2026

The harmonized MAC LCDs for skin substitutes in diabetic foot ulcers and venous leg ulcers were withdrawn on December 24, 2025, before their scheduled January 1, 2026 start. The WISeR model, running January 1, 2026 to December 31, 2031, lists skin and tissue substitutes for prior authorization. Practices billing under New Jersey billing rules, Ohio billing rules, Oklahoma or Texas billing rules should request WISeR prior authorization before the product is applied. In Arizona and Washington (MAC jurisdiction JF), skin substitutes are currently not subject to WISeR prior authorization. Missing or invalid prior authorization caused 17% of denials in our claim audit, so product cases run through our eligibility and prior authorization team first.

Wound Care Coding for ICD-10, Hyperbaric Oxygen and SNF Visits

Diagnosis pairs that support the procedure

Wound typeCode firstAddWhat the code must show
Type 2 diabetic foot ulcerE11.621L97.4- or L97.5-Site, laterality and ulcer severity
Varicose veins with ulcerI83.0-L97.-Ulcer severity
Chronic venous hypertension with ulcerI87.31-L97.-Ulcer severity
Pressure ulcerL89.-NoneStage 1 to 4, unstageable, or deep tissue damage

The L97 sixth character records severity: limited to breakdown of skin, fat layer exposed, necrosis of muscle, necrosis of bone, or muscle or bone involvement without evidence of necrosis. We check that the severity coded matches the depth debrided, because a bone-level debridement against a fat-layer ulcer code is an easy target in review.

Hyperbaric oxygen under NCD 20.29

  • Diabetic lower extremity wounds qualify when the patient has type 1 or type 2 diabetes, a Wagner grade III or higher wound, and has failed an adequate course of standard wound therapy.
  • Failure means no measurable signs of healing for at least 30 consecutive days.
  • Wounds must be evaluated at least every 30 days during treatment, so each 30-day review needs measurements in the chart before more sessions are billed.
  • The physician reports 99183 per session; G0277 is reported per 30-minute interval (Claims Processing Manual, Chapter 32).

Skilled nursing facility and mobile wound visits

Services of physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants and clinical nurse specialists are excluded from SNF consolidated billing, so a mobile wound care group bills its visits and procedures to Part B directly (Claims Processing Manual, Chapter 6). Services within the facility's Part A payment are not billed by the practice, so every round needs the resident's stay status before the claim is built. Nurse practitioners and physician assistants bill under their own NPI, which means each new clinician needs Medicare and Medicare Advantage enrollment finished before the first facility round, or those visits sit unbilled.

Common Wound Care Billing Mistakes

A dressing change can be billed as a debridement

A dressing change may not be billed as a debridement or other wound care service under any circumstance (Noridian A53296). Cost: the debridement line, plus repayment. Coding and modifier errors caused 21% of denials in our claim audit.

Each wound gets its own debridement unit

Same-depth wound areas are summed; different depths are never combined (WPS LCD L37228). Cost: a median $97 per debridement claim error. In our claim audit, 6% of multi-wound claims billed same-depth wounds separately.

Site preparation before a graft is billed as debridement

Debridement before a graft or skin substitute is included in the application procedure (NCCI Policy Manual, Chapter III). Cost: a denied line. In our claim audit, separate debridement appeared on 5% of graft application dates.

JW and JZ still belong on skin substitute claims

From January 1, 2026, skin substitutes are supplies, and First Coast rejects product claims carrying JW or JZ (First Coast article). Cost: $2,545.60 on a 20 sq cm application, held until corrected. In our claim audit, JW or JZ appeared on 14% of 2026 product claims.

Any visit on a debridement day supports modifier 25

The decision to perform a minor procedure is included in its payment; the E/M must be separately identifiable (NCCI Policy Manual, Chapter XI). Cost: a median $74 per denied E/M line. In our claim audit, 12% of same-day E/M claims lacked a separate problem.

What We Handle for Wound Care Practices

Full-Service Medical Billing

We run the revenue cycle from eligibility to zero balance inside the practice management system you already use. How full-service billing works.

Medical Coding

Certified coders review charges against your documentation and payer rules before the claim goes out, so the denial is prevented rather than appealed. Medical coding.

Denials and AR Recovery

Aged and denied claims are worked to resolution, then the upstream cause is fixed so the same claims stop coming back. Denials and AR recovery.

Eligibility and Prior Authorization

Benefits are verified and authorizations secured before the appointment, which is the cheapest place in the cycle to stop a denial. Eligibility and prior authorization.

Patient Billing

Statements, balance questions and payment plans are handled by the same team that worked the claim. Patient billing.

Credentialing

Payer enrollment and re-credentialing are tracked through to approval, so a lapsed credential never quietly stops payment. Credentialing.

Medical Virtual Assistant

A HIPAA-trained front-office assistant working inside your EHR on calls, scheduling, intake and referrals, alongside the billing team. Medical virtual assistant.

We Work Inside Your Wound Care Software

Wound care documentation lives in specialty systems as much as in the EHR. We work inside what you already use, under a signed BAA, with no migration.

  • Wound care EHRs: Net Health Wound Care, Intellicure
  • Hospital systems for outpatient wound centers: Epic, Oracle Health
  • Long-term care platforms for SNF rounds: PointClickCare, MatrixCare
  • Ambulatory EHR and PM: athenahealth, eClinicalWorks, ModMed
  • Wound imaging and measurement: Swift Medical

Measurement, depth and product fields in your wound assessment feed the claim, so billed units come from the note.

Results for Wound Care Practices

2 weeks

from a signed BAA to our team working your claims

About 3 weeks

to the first recovered payments on aged AR

20+ years

combined billing and coding experience

  • 13% of debridement claims billed deeper than documented, across 3,900 wound care claims audited Jan 2025 to Jun 2026 (Luxen claim audit).
  • Across 27 billing reviews, Jan 2025 to Jun 2026, wound care practices carried a median 44 days in AR (Luxen billing reviews).
  • Across 38 client practices, first-pass denial rate fell from 14.2% to 6.1% within 90 days of onboarding, Jan 2024 to Jun 2026 (Luxen client data).
  • Our denials and AR recovery team recovered 61% of the dollar value of stopped claims aged 90 to 180 days, 38 client practices, Jan 2024 to Jun 2026 (Luxen client data).
Debridement claims were being reduced because wound depth and surface area in the note did not support the submitted service. Luxen introduced a pre-bill review, reduced wound-care denials by 68%, and recovered $38,100.

Practice Administrator, outpatient wound care center

Skin-substitute product units and application charges were not consistently reconciled to the treatment record. Luxen reviewed each case, recovered $82,700, and reduced product-related billing corrections by 74%.

Revenue Cycle Director, advanced wound care practice

Full engagements are written up in our dental practice case study and our ambulance billing case study.

What Does Wound Care Billing Cost?

3% to 6% of collections

Luxen's pricing generally falls between 3% and 6% of collections, depending on claim volume, specialty, payer mix, and how much of the revenue cycle your practice hands over.

Higher-volume practices usually land toward the lower end. Smaller or more complex practices land higher because there is more work per account. There is no setup fee and no exit fee, and the agreement runs month to month with 30 days notice.

A lower fee attached to weak billing is still expensive. The number that matters is what your collections do after you hire someone.

Example: a three-provider wound care group with a clinic and SNF rounds, collecting $1,600,000 a year, priced per service line within 3% to 6% of collections.

Service lineAnnual collectionsExample Luxen rateAnnual Luxen fee
Clinic and SNF visits, debridement, compression$950,0006%$57,000
Skin substitute applications and product$650,0003%$19,500
Total$1,600,0004.8% blended$76,500

Wound care revenue cycle management cost, in-house vs Luxen

In-houseLuxen
Annual cost$126,400 (7.9% of $1,600,000)$76,500
When a biller leavesOpen biller roles took a median 67 days to fillCoverage continues on the team
ContractEmploymentMonth to month, 30 days notice, no setup or exit fee

Fully loaded in-house billing cost 7.9% of collections for practices under $2M, across 96 practices that shared payroll data (Luxen billing reviews). At that rate, the example group spends $49,900 less a year with full-service medical billing, and patient balances after product claims go through patient billing.

How to Choose a Wound Care Billing Company

Questions to ask wound care billing companies

  • How do you check billed depth and square centimeters against the note?
  • Have you rebuilt skin substitute billing for the 2026 supply payment, JW and JZ removal, and G0681 to G0684?
  • Who tracks WISeR prior authorization if we treat patients in New Jersey, Ohio, Oklahoma or Texas?
  • What is the fee basis? In our survey, 44% could not name the fee basis in their current billing contract.

What a wound care billing company should report monthly

Denials by reason and code family, days in AR, and aged product claims. In our survey, 52% of practices that switched billing vendors cited missing denial reporting as the main reason. You can also compare medical billing companies by state.

Partner typeDebridement and product coding2026 skin substitute rulesDenial follow-upCost basis
In-house teamDepends on one or two billersSelf-taughtOften no full-time ownerSalaries, benefits and software
Generalist billing companyThin on depth and area rulesVariesVariesPercent of collections
Specialty wound care companyDeepUsually currentVariesPercent of collections
EHR vendor RCMSoftware rules engineVendor updatesQueue-basedPercent of collections plus software
LuxenCertified coders, pre-bill depth and unit checksSupply payment and WISeREvery denial worked by reason3% to 6% of collections

Switching Your Wound Care Billing to Luxen

1. Billing review

A 30-minute look at your AR ageing, denial reasons and payer mix. You leave knowing what is recoverable, what we would work first and what it would cost.

2. BAA, then access inside your system

We sign a business associate agreement before anyone touches your system. Your named team then works inside the practice management system and clearinghouse you already use. Nothing is migrated, and claims are being worked within two weeks of the signed BAA.

3. Oldest money first

Aged and denied claims come first because that is revenue you have already earned. Most practices see the first recovered payments inside three weeks.

4. The daily cycle

Once the backlog is moving, we take over the agreed part of the daily cycle: eligibility, coding review, submission, posting, denials and patient balances.

What we need from you

  • Your AR ageing report and a recent denial report
  • System and clearinghouse access for the named team
  • Your fee schedule and payer contracts
  • One point of contact for coding and documentation questions

Why Practices Choose Luxen, and When Not to Outsource

A named team inside your system

You know who owns your claims. The team works inside the practice management system and EHR you already run, with no migration.

Certified coders, with automation on the repetitive work

Claims are coded by certified coders against your documentation and payer rules. Automation handles the repetitive checks so people spend their time on the claims that need judgment.

HIPAA from the first day

We sign a business associate agreement before accessing protected health information, and access is limited to the named people on your account.

We read your numbers before we quote

We look at your AR ageing, volume, payer mix and denial profile first, then tell you what we believe is recoverable and what it would cost.

When outsourcing is the wrong call

A billing company is a poor fit if you are not willing to share visibility into your billing, if the vendor uses a rotating pool of people who never learn your practice, or if it cannot explain why your claims are being denied. Be wary of anyone promising large collection increases before they have seen your AR ageing. The right partner makes your revenue cycle more visible, not less.

Wound Care Billing FAQs

How do you bill for wound care services?

Debridement is billed by deepest tissue removed and total area, so two subcutaneous ulcers totaling 6 sq cm are one unit of 11042. Selective debridement (97597, 97598) and surgical debridement (11042 to 11047) are not reported for the same wound. Skin substitutes pair a product code with an application code.

How much do wound care billing services cost?

Luxen prices wound care billing at 3% to 6% of collections, month to month with 30 days notice and no setup or exit fee. For comparison, fully loaded in-house billing cost 7.9% of collections for practices under $2M in our billing reviews.

How long does it take to switch wound care billing to Luxen?

Most practices go from signed BAA to working claims in about 2 weeks; median time to first claims worked was 9 business days. We start with the oldest open claims, because Medicare requires filing within 1 calendar year of the date of service. First recovered payments arrived a median of 17 days after work began.

Can Luxen work inside Net Health, Epic or PointClickCare?

Yes. We bill from the wound care EHR, hospital system or long-term care platform you already use, under a signed BAA, with no data migration. Wound measurements and product fields are mapped to the claim so billed units match the note.

Can you bill for a wound dressing change?

Not as a debridement. Noridian article A53296 states a dressing change may not be billed as a debridement or other wound care service under any circumstance. Under Noridian article A58565, when debridement and an Unna boot (29580) happen at the same visit, only the debridement is paid.

Sources

Send Us Your AR Ageing

Thirty minutes, no deck and no fee. We look at what is sitting past 90 days and where your denials cluster, and you leave knowing what is recoverable, what we would work first, and what it would cost.

Book a Billing Review